Why I’m cancelling my Medium pubs, cancelling my newsletter, and unlaunching Patreon

Why and what’s next

Aaron Jacklin
3 min readSep 10, 2023

--

When I started writing online earlier this year, I had ideas about what I should do. Those ideas were based on advice that I thought made sense.

The advice boiled down to three things:

First, start a one-person Medium pub to distribute my writing. Don’t get caught up trying to make money through the Medium writing, just focus on building an audience. (I started two pubs.)

Second, start building an email list. Provide them with value while building a product that solves a problem for them. (I built a lead magnet and started a newsletter.)

Third, start crowdfunding to start making money while building a product to sell. (I started a Patreon page and started working on a book.)

The result?

Photo by Luz Fuertes on Unsplash

I bit off more than I could chew, and now I’m choking.

Here’s what I think the problems are.

The problems

First problem: I didn’t take into account my limited time and attention. As the…

--

--

Aaron Jacklin

Creating quality, ethical nonfiction crime content. Criminology Journalist & Writing Coach.