WRITING TIPS

Bring Mindfulness to Your Writing

A gentle introduction to writing practice, which can both make you a better writer and break writer’s block.

Aaron Jacklin
3 min readJun 7, 2023

--

Earlier this afternoon, I sat down to practice writing, which I know sounds odd. The article you’re reading is mostly the raw text of that writing practice session. I’ve added a link here or there and few notes enclosed in square brackets where I said something incorrect.

Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

The point is to introduce you to writing practice with a piece that’s come out of writing practice itself. I’m exposing this raw writing because I think that academics (and anyone, really) could benefit from learning to write more plainly, which writing practice helps you do.

“10 minutes, starting now,” said Alexa just now. [I had set a timer for this session.]

But I don’t know what to write. So, as the advice goes, I’ll say that. Over and over until something else comes to mind.

I don’t know what to write. I don’t know what to write.

[Then, something else came to mind.]

I want to write advice for academics. For their writing. The first thing I’d do or rather say is to accept that they can write more clearly and that writing clearly would…

--

--

Aaron Jacklin

Creating quality, ethical nonfiction crime content. Criminology Journalist & Writing Coach.